Public Service National Trade Union Federation was started in September 1973 with the guidance of Hon. J.R. Jayawardana leader of United National Party. He was the first President of the federation. Mr Daglus Abeydeera was a first General Secretary. At the beginning following trade unions were affiliated to the federation.
  • National Railway Emploees' Union
  • National Printing Emploees' Union
  • National Postal & Telecommunication Emploees' Union
  • National Clerical Union
  • National Education Union
  • Pre School Teachers’ Union
  • Food Department National Podu Sevaka Union
  • National Health Services Union
Hon. J.R. Jayawardane
Hon. J.R. Jayawardane
First president of PSNTUF